Interstellar

interstellar

During the past year, there have been many films that I chose to bypass seeing in the theatre, and I would have to say that the biggest of those was ‘Interstellar’. I will say this about the end result of that; I am glad that I passed on paying for a theatre ticket for it. To be completely honest, I found ‘Interstellar’ to be bland and, in the end, a science-fiction film that did not truly pique my interest.

I will give the film all the credit in the world for its visual effect. From a dying Earth to frozen landscapes and the universe in between, you can clearly see the budget that went towards that side of the film in full effect and ‘Interstellar’ benefits whole heartedly from this.

However, on the flip side of that is the sound editing. I had heard that the sound was not up to par in some theatrical visits of the film and I can say without a doubt that the editing and mixing, especially between the louder action sounds and the quieter talking scenes, did not mesh. At times I found myself missing key parts, and when you miss something or have to go back to listen to it again, it can take you completely out of the film.

The balancing act of this film however was a performance by Matthew McConaughey. McConaughey brought some real depth to the role of Joseph Cooper, and this is never more imminent than near the end of film in a scene with his daughter. I won’t go into a lot of detail to prevent a lot of spoilers, but I will say this, it tugged at my heart strings and was truly the one worthwhile part of the full film.

I really wanted to like ‘Interstellar’, but in the end I don’t feel it lives up to the hype surrounding it. As is much the case with films directed by Christopher Nolan, short of ‘Batman Begins’ I felt myself underwhelmed and wanting more.

If you are a fan of science fiction, I would say to give ‘Interstellar’ a chance, go in with an open mind and form your own opinion, but for myself, it felt like it tried to be too much science-fact instead of fiction.

Once again, sorry about the past year folks and thank you for welcoming me back. I will endeavour to put up reviews like this with some consistency moving forward once again.

As always, for all this and more, feel free to follow me on Twitter at @kymayer. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

