Jurassic World

jw

Hey everyone, it has been around a year since I reviewed a movie, and for that, I am truly sorry. Life caught up with me for a bit, with a newborn, new job and what not cutting into my opportunities to see films in a theater. Yes, in that time I have still seen films, just not as much as I had been and I found it extremely difficult to use my time in this manner.

That being said though, I thought that with the new release of ‘Jurassic World’ that it would be a perfect time to get my feet wet again. Yes, I find the irony of being a huge Marvel Studios fan and bypassing two of their biggest releases in ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ and ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’, but in thinking about that I discovered a major reason why I am back now when I am: ‘Jurassic Park’ was my ‘Star Wars’ and a return to the island has excited me to return.

When ‘Jurassic Park’ was released in 1993, I was finishing up grade eight, heading into my first year of high school. I was on the verge of turning fourteen and was really starting to get into movies. I had also just finished reading the book from Michael Crichton, and I had always been huge into dinosaurs as a kid, so this really was lightning in a bottle for me.

‘Jurassic Park’ is one of the earliest films that I remember seeing in the theater, has been a multi-platform buy over the years and I even splurged on seeing in 3D two years ago because, natch, dinosaurs. Not only that, but it also helped revolutionize the kind of films you could make. There would be no ‘Avengers’ no, ‘Lord of the Rings’ without JP, and we should all be thankful that it exists.

Moving on to why ‘Jurassic World’ now has the biggest opening weekend in North American history takes a few things into account. Firstly, we haven’t had a ‘Jurassic’ film in eleven years, since the ill-fated and not nearly loved as much as the rest ‘Jurassic Park III’. Secondly, the red-hot Chris Pratt has become a true leading man that can pull in audiences with ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ and this film truly benefits from having him attached to it. Finally, rampaging dinosaurs truly never go out of style.

While it may not have really stuck its landing with critics, evidenced by it’s current 70% rating on Rotten Tomatoes, general audiences have not cared, which has resulted in an insane $209 million opening weekend which tops 2012’s ‘The Avengers’ for biggest weekend of all time in North America.

In the end, ‘Jurassic World’ is right up there in quality with ‘Jurassic Park’ as far as I am concerned. Director Colin Trevorrow paid a great homage to Steven Spielberg while also standing on his own in crafting a film that had great pacing, great mayhem and amazing visuals and the humour was well crafted and well timed. Truly, this film brought out my inner child again and was a exactly what I needed on the day that I saw it.

Starring Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard, various other humans and some great dinosaur mayhem, ‘Jurassic World’ goes down as my movie to watch so far for 2015, and that’s saying a lot as we have gotten both ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’ and ‘Furious 7’ and both of those were pretty damned awesome as well.

One thought on “Jurassic World

Leave a Reply

