Noah

noah

At this point and time in my life, I would say that I am farther from organized religion than I have ever been, yet I see many parallels in the stories used by religion in daily life in the here and now. With that in mind, last evening I took in my first post-baby-being-born trip to the theatre to see Darren Aronofsky’s ‘Noah’, and I must admit, it is better than I ever expected it to be.

Obviously ‘Noah’ is a version of the well-known, to anyone, religious or no, story of Noah’s Ark and how God tasked Noah with saving pairs of animals to re-populate Earth after he sends the flood to wipe out the downfall of humanity.

I will say this, the marketing of ‘Noah’ had a hard time. It could not properly do justice to the fantasy elements of the film nor could it accurately touch on exactly how the third act happens, and as a result, many who would enjoy this film will possibly miss out on it.

Russell Crowe is eerily good as the titular character and lends significant strength to a film that, even though it was setup as non-secular, could very easily have come off as preachy.

Anthony Hopkins is essentially a throwaway as Noah’s father, Methuselah. This is one of those roles that Hollywood loves to throw at older established actors, but which would generally be served better by finding a lesser known name to fill.

On a whole, ‘Noah’ is a rather entertaining film that has more good than bad and somehow manages to be much more than just a sum of its parts, and for that alone I would say this is worth a trip to the theatre to see. There is enough here to see it on a large screen.

As always, for all this and more, feel free to follow me on Twitter at @kymayer. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

