R.I.P.D.

ripdEvery summer there is a film that comes out and just defies every piece of logic imaginable, either good or bad, and in 2013 that appears to be ‘R.I.P.D.’.  This film is, as of this writing, quite possibly the worst film we will see in 2013.  It is that bad of a film.

I will say that Jeff Bridges seemed to do his best to make the film as entertaining as possible as a Wild West law man, but there was just not enough in this film other than that to make it worth while.

I am not sure if it was an issue with dis-interested actors, horrible scripting, awful direction, or a combination of all three, but ‘R.I.P.D.’ will easily go down in history as one of those films that people will watch but then never admit to having seen.

This film is ‘Jonah Hex’ bad, and yes, I do use ‘Jonah Hex’ as a barometer to gauge how awful other films are.  After watching ‘R.I.P.D.’, I had to wonder how this film ever saw the light of day.  A film that has no advance press screenings and that gets universally panned by both critics and audiences is a movie that will cost people careers, and that is what ‘R.I.P.D.’ should do, except for Bridges.

For all this and more, feel free to follow me on Twitter at @kymayer.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

