Monsters University

monsters

‘Monsters University’ is the first ever prequel from Pixar and was everything that I was looking for out of a movie featuring a younger version of Mike and Sulley.  The main problem with prequels is it can take some of the suspense out of the film as you already know what is going to happen to the main characters, and while that is also true with ‘Monsters University’, Pixar managed to throw enough of a curve ball at the film to make it interesting.

The one thing that I did find to be missing from ‘Monsters University’ was the hidden adult-centered jokes that Pixar loves to do.  Now, I’m not sure if that was just because I was having too much fun during the film and I simply missed them, or if there just weren’t that many this time around, but this film still kept me in stitches throughout.

There were moments during ‘Monsters University’ that I would classify to be Pixar’s best work ever in a feature length film for the level of their animation.  I don’t want to say too much, but there are some scenes near the end of the film that are the best looking computer animation that I have ever seen.

‘Monsters University’ is definitely geared a little younger than ‘Monsters, Inc.’ was, but that is just a natural progression I believe, but one that did not take away from the overall quality of the film.  After a couple of misses in the fun column, Pixar is back in a big way with ‘Monsters University’.

For all this and more, feel free to follow me on Twitter at @kymayer.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

