Oblivion

oblivionIt was a couple of days later than when I normally see a new release film that I am excited about, but I finally got around to seeing ‘Oblivion’ on Tuesday night, and as the first of the big-budget forays into the Sci-Fi genre this year, it more than fulfilled what I was hoping for from the film.

‘Oblivion’ is Tom Cruise’s third foray into the Sci-Fi genre, along with ‘Minority Report’ and ‘War of the Worlds’, and tells et another fun story with enough twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat for the full two hour running time.

The one things that I really did notice with ‘Oblivion’, and I was not sure that I would, was just how much the style of the director, Joseph Kosinski had on the film.  ‘Oblivion’ is Kosinski’s sophomore effort following up on 2010’s ‘Tron: Legacy’, and there are some very similar aspects between the two films, something that pleasantly surprised me.

Sci-Fi films that are a thinking mans’s thriller, where you try to out-guess the film much like I did last evening, but have enough surprises to keep you on your toes are few and far between and when they do come along, they are a welcome change of pace.

I don’t want to go into much more detail about ‘Oblivion’ than I already have as I don’t want to ruin it for anyone, but I will say that Tom Cruise is at his best in this film and is a joy to watch as an action star still, and that ‘Oblivion’ is definitely worth a watch, and to get the full benefit of the ruined atmosphere of the film, catch it while it is in the theatre.

For all this and more, feel free to follow me on Twitter at @kymayer.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

