Jurassic Park 3D

jp3dLast evening I had the pleasure of seeing the original ‘Jurassic Park’ on the big screen again for the first time in nearly twenty years, and like many Steven Spielberg films, it is just as great as it ever was.

Before diving into anything else, I would like to remind everyone that last summer I did a series where I ranked what were my top-five favourite trilogies of all time, and the ‘Jurassic Park’ trilogy was number four on that list, based almost solely on the sheer brilliance of the original.  You can read about that article here: https://mayeronmovies.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/top-five-trilogies-4-jurassic-park/

When the ‘Jurassic Park’ first arrived to theatres all the way back in June of 1993, I was a starry-eyed thirteen year old that was in the process of reading the novel by Michael Chrichton that it was based on, just exiting the young love that a male generally has for the extinct dinosaur, so this was a well timed movie for me in my adolescence.

Fast forward twenty years to right now, and my love of ‘Jurassic Park’ has not lessened at all.  I still have the same paperback version that I had twenty years ago, and with the Blu-ray release of the entire trilogy in late 2011, I have been able to share my love of this film with both of my sons, at times much to my chagrin, as it has become a standby film for them to watch anytime that they can.

To the actual film and its 3D re-release, it looked just as beautiful and stunning as it did twenty years ago.  The 3D conversion is actually one of the best I have seen so far, and you can tell it was done as much more than just a cash grab, which is nice to see happen.

I hate to say it, but the best 3D out there always seems to be the 3D that you don’t notice, and that really does accurately describe the kind of 3D we got from ‘Jurassic Park’.  This wasn’t jump out at you 3D, but give the film some depth and layers 3D.  Now, that being said, I still really wish that ‘Jurassic Park’ was playing locally in 2D as well so that I could take my two boys to see it, and as a result of this, I keep hoping that we will eventually see the end of 3D re-releases, but as I seem to keep giving them money all the time, it does seem kind of counter-productive.

I definitely recommend for anyone that is a fan of the ‘Jurassic Park’ franchise that is able to watch a 3D movie to take advantage of the opportunity to go see the film on the big screen again, it will absolutely be well worth the trip.

For all this and more, feel free to follow me on Twitter at @kymayer.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

