Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters

hansel‘Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters’ is one of those movies that you wonder why it was bumped back from its original release date of March of last year to it’s opening night which was last night.  There was not a lot of publicity behind the bumping back of the film, and that leads me to believe that the studio, Paramount Pictures, did not have faith in the film, although other reports state it was to take advantage of an empty slot in IMAX availability.

What the delay did allow is for the rise of Jeremy Renner as a possible action star, thanks to roles in last years films ‘The Avengers’ and ‘The Bourne Legacy’.  As much as Renner has become known as a result of those films, I do not believe it is strong enough to carry a film, especially one that was really not marketed at all in North America.

That being said, I did enjoy ‘Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters’.  I enjoyed the take on the classic fairy tale that it told, especially with the setting of the siblings being adults and what that initial experience with the witch in the gingerbread house did to them in their formative years.

I have to admit that this is probably the one movie with the most gore in it that I have ever seen.  I generally do not watch movies with gore or horror movies, but this movie crossed enough genres to not be overboard and draw my attention as a result.

I had no real issues with this movie.  Yes, the story was a little light and the acting not up to Academy Award standards, but I wasn’t looking for that, I was looking for some laughs and some witches being killed, and that is exactly what I got and it was very enjoyable.

It’s a real shame, because this movie, due to its being bumped back in scheduling and the lack of marketing, will really suffer in the North American box office, and a positive box office would have allowed the creation of a possible franchise, and I found there to be real possibilities with branching this out.

In the end, I really enjoyed the movie and I will gladly watch it again in the future, and I would recommend it for anyone looking for some laughs and a suspension of belief for an hour and a half.

For all this and more, feel free to follow me on Twitter at @kymayer.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

