Gangster Squad

gangsterLast evening I took in my first new release of 2013 in Gangster Squad.  The 1940’s anti-gangster film starring Josh Brolin, Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone.  This movie was originally scheduled for a September of 2012 release, but was sent back for some re-shoots after the Aurora, Colorado theatre shooting.

In the original trailer for the film, there was a scene where the main antagonists come after some mobsters by shooting through a movie screen.  When you consider that this trailer was attached to The Dark Knight Rises, which was the movie playing when the Aurora shooting happened, definitely made the producers anxious.

For the record, I have to state that I love the style of clothing from this time period and I definitely have a soft spot for movies based out of this time period as well.  For me, it is just such a romantic time period.

That being said, at times I feel like the story was a little lacking, but overall, I really enjoyed Gangster Squad.  I find that I am really enjoying Josh Brolin as of late and I believe that Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone are two of the best young actors in Hollywood today.

While it won’t win any awards, and will have a limited box office run, I truly feel that Gangster Squad is a movie worth watching and would recommend it to anyone that enjoys movies based on that time period or about gangsters or the mob as well.

For all this and more, feel free to follow me on Twitter at @kymayer.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

