Django Unchained

djangoLast evening I took in the latest Quentin Tarantino directed film, Django Unchained.  Like many Tarantino helmed films in the past, Django Unchained is, like the title itself, unchained and unrestricted in bringing a horrible era in the history of the United States of America to the screen in a manner that still allows the film to be entertaining at times.

I will admit that I have not always been a big fan of Tarantino’s films, as I am not always a fan of the over excessive violence that he portrays in them.  That being said, I only found a couple of incidences that I would qualify as over-indulging in Django Unchained, and to be perfectly honest, I felt they suited the tone of the film quite well.

Having long been a fan of ‘spaghetti westerns’ as a child due to my father’s love of them in general and Clint Eastwood in particular, I will always have a soft spot in my heart for films that evoke the 60’s western love, and Django Unchained does just that, being my favourite ‘western’ that has been released in years.

There is also a lot of controversy around Django Unchained due to the proliferation of a certain word that is said in the film.  I fully understand how that can bother some people, but for the time period that the film takes place in, that word was used in a high rate of proliferation, and in order to try to accurately depict the time period, that word had to be used in the film.

Django Unchained, as most Tarantino films do, lightened the mood at times with some humour as well, just enough to not make the movie feel like an almost three hour drag.

For me personally, the standout star of the movie is Christoph Waltz as the bounty hunter Dr. King Schultz who grants Django his freedom and assists him in his attempt to free his wife from slavery.  I only truly remember Waltz from his role as the villain in The Green Hornet.  I say that, as I have never successfully watched Inglorious Basterds all the way through, as I always end up falling asleep.  I have heard that Waltz is amazing in his role in that film as well, so after seeing Django Unchained, I know that I need to give Basterds another try.

That being said, Django Unchained was a great choice to start of my 2013 theatre campaign and was another great option for the 2012 release season and may sneak through with some Academy Award nominations as well.

For all this and more, feel free to follow me on Twitter at @kymayers.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

