Monsters, Inc. 3D

monstersincOn the weekend just before Christmas I took in the 3D re-release of Monsters, Inc. and as is always the case with Pixar releases the 3D in Monsters, Inc. was phenomenal.  If I was to list my five favourite animated movies of all-time, Monsters, Inc. would definitely be on that list, and to get the chance to see it on the big screen again was completely worth it.

Even after all these years, I still find Monsters, Inc. to be a completely hilarious movie, and I had actually forgotten the scenes during the credits showing the “play” that Mike and Sully put on.  Too funny indeed.

I really do believe that the Pixar movies, just with how they were filmed to begin with, lend themselves so well to 3D up-conversion, much more so than any other animated movies that I have also seen in 3D re-release.

That being said, the true enjoyment for me in watching Monsters, Inc. again in the theatre was in the sheer hilarity of the movie.  It has probably moved into the #1 spot for Pixar movies for me this year, and the chance to see it on the big screen was great, especially with a prequel, Monsters University, coming out next summer.

For all this and more, feel free to follow me on Twitter at @kymayer.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

