Red Dawn (2012)

reddawnTuesday evening, on another cheap night at the theatre, I took in the Red Dawn, a remake of a cult classic from 1984.  Now, this was definitely not my first choice as I would have much preferred to have taken in Steven Spielberg’s new movie, Lincoln.  Alas, my local theatre has for some reason decided not to bring Lincoln to our city for one reason or another, so Red Dawn was the lesser of the evils out of the options remaining.

It has been a long time since I have seen the original, so I don’t remember all the much about it anymore, so I was essentially going into the movie fresh, and I think because of that I was actually able to enjoy it a little more than maybe some others that are seeing it and remember the original fondly.

I will say that Chris Hemsworth is well on his way to becoming one of the big action stars of his generation.  With his roles as Thor in the Marvel Studios films, as the Huntsman in Snow  White and the Huntsman and now this role in Red Dawn, he has definitely shown his ability to work an action movie.

As a whole, Red Dawn, for a movie that was stuck in limbo after MGM had their bankruptcy scare and then had some edits done to change the invading army from Chinese to North Korean, comes off as an above average action film.  While no means in the same league as a big budget summer blockbuster, it does have enough heart to still come across as a worthwhile effort.

If you are looking for a quick, under two hour action movie at this time of year, then I would say Red Dawn is perfect for you.  If you are looking for Oscar worthy fare, Red Dawn will not be up your alley.

For all this and more, feel free to follow me on Twitter at @kymayer.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

