Top Five Trilogies – #5 Transformers

I watch a lot of movies.  I haven’t seen all of the classics, as I have not seen the Godfather trilogy, although that should finally be rectified in the next week or two.  That being said, I have a strange feeling that when it comes to ranking trilogies of movies, it more than likely won’t be able to break into my top five list.

The following blogs will go over those series of movies.

5. Transformers

As much as some rip apart the Transformers movies, I enjoy all three of them, and the looks of excitement that my two young sons get watching them remind me of how excited I got watching the cartoon back in the 80’s.  No movie based a toy line from the 80’s is going to be perfect, but Michael Bay managed to craft starting back in 2007.

Admittedly, Revenge of the Fallen in 2009 suffered from the Writers’ Strike during production, but it still entertains me, and the boys would probably say it is their favourite.  The movie, which pays homage to the 80’s animated movie, was tough on me with the death of Optimus Prime.

Dark of the Moon falls prey to the normal tendencies of all trilogies, trying to tie together plot lines from the first two movies.  Unfortunately, when that happens, sometimes other plot holes open up, and that happened with this movie.

All in all, I love all three movies, I grew up with the cartoon, and Optimus Prime was, is, and will forever be one of my favourite characters of all time, and getting Peter Cullen, the voice of Prime in the cartoon, to voice Prime in the movies just completed everything for me.  I love that we got to see giant ass, kick ass robots on the big screen, and I love that it’s something I’ve been able to pass on to my sons.

Check back in the next day or two for #4 on the list.

For all this and more, follow me on Twitter at @kymayer.  Cheers.

One thought on “Top Five Trilogies – #5 Transformers

  1. Pingback: Top Five Trilogies – #4 Jurassic Park | Mayer on Movies

Leave a Reply

