Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope

Last night I watched Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope for the first time in years, and I did so with the most current version that George Lucas has decided to grace us with, the newly released Blu-ray version.

Now, I really don’t want to get into a rant about what Lucas has done to the original version that all of us nerds, geeks and dweebs know and love, as that version, outside of some VHS tapes kicking around and some Asian LaserDiscs, really doesn’t exist anymore.  The current version is what Lucas feels is the best cut of the movie, and that is what we have.  What I do want to talk about is how the movie looks and sounds.

A New Hope looked freaking fantastic.  I mean, we can’t forget that this is a 35 year old movie I’m talking about.  Most movies that have been out this long will start to show their age, and sure, some scenes seem to do that, but the conversion that this film was put thru to bring it to Blu-ray last year is amazing.  Most movies today would kill to look like A New Hope does right now, let alone in 10 years, not to say anything of 35 years down the road.

The sound was just as it should always be.  Quiet scenes were quiet, and explosions were loud.  To me, a movie has perfect sound when you don’t need to touch your remote during the movie, and that is what A New Hope gave me, no remote needed.

I’ve always been worried that the Original Trilogy of Star Wars wasn’t going to age well, but last night proved to me that I really don’t need to worry about that happening.

A New Hope continues to be a defining movie in the history of film, one that blew my Dad away in the theatre back in 1977, one that blew yours truly away when my Dad introduced it to me, one that blew away my children when I first showed it to them, and one that will blow away my grandchildren some day in the future.

Tomorrow night brings forth The Empire Strikes Back, one of my Top Five favourite movies of all time, and I for one can not wait to see how amazing it is going to look on Blu-ray.

For this and more, you can follow me on Twitter at @kymayer. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

