The Bourne Legacy

I’ve been a huge Bourne fan ever since reading the books by Robert Ludlum, long before any of them became movies. I love the way that Matt Damon played Jason Bourne in all three movies “based” on the books, so I was a little skeptical when I heard they were going to make a new movie without Matt Damon.

In the past year, Jeremy Renner has shown that he can play an action role, both in Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol and The Avengers, but would he be able to carry an action movie in the starring role?

I am here to tell you that Jeremy Renner is the best part of The Bourne Legacy, and hope that they make a second movie with his Aaron Cross as the lead character.

What I do have to say is that a large bulk of the movie was used to try and connect The Bourne Legacy to the first three Bourne movies, and while I think some of it was necessary, at times it can really take you out of the movie, especially if you haven’t seen The Bourne Ultimatum.  In my mind, they could have done away with half of the tie in back story and could have explained how Jeremy Renner’s character finds the Doctor that Rachel Weisz was playing.

I will say that the chemistry between Renner and Weisz is the best in the series so far, and hope that they bring Weisz back in a sequel and do her character justice, unlike what happened in The Bourne Supremacy.

Overall, I would have to say that this is the weakest of the four Bourne movies so far, but to be honest, that’s like saying Two Towers is the weakest of the Lord of the Rings movies, it’s still pretty damn good.

I would go 3.5 out of 5 stars, and if you liked any of the Matt Damon Bourne’s, you will love what Renner brings to the franchise.

For this and more, you can follow me on Twitter at @kymayer.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

